top of page


The purpose of the Virginia Athletic Trainers’ Association Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Access (DEIA) Committee is to develop, implement, and evaluate organizational policies and procedures to address diversity, equity, and inclusion issues. To this end, the committee will disseminate information and best practices through ongoing professional development training for diversity, equity, and inclusion.

B Brown.jpg

Committee Co-Chair

Brittany Brown, ATC





Brittany Brown currently works as an Associate Product Manager at LifeNet Health in Virgina Beach, Virginia. Prior to her current position, she spent eight years as a Secondary School Athletic Trainer where she enjoyed. Brittany has a passion for serving, she has served on the NATA Ethnic Diversity Advisory Committee and has served as a member of the DEIA committee for the three years. In her free time, Brittany enjoys spending time with her dog Chloe and spending time with family.

Emily portrait.jpg

Committee Co-Chair

Emily Madrak, ATC




Emily Madrak is an Assistant Professor at the University of Virginia, where she is core faculty within the Master's of Science of Athletic Training Program. She also serves as the director of simulation and social media for the program. Her research focuses on athletic trainer health and behaviors as well as cultural competence in athletic training. Madrak is a certified and licensed athletic trainer. Before becoming an educator, Madrak worked clinically, as an athletic trainer at Bucknell University with their swimming and diving and women's lacrosse teams. 

Committee Members:

Patricia Aronson

Jessica Martinez

Jennifer Cuchna

Heather Bauby

Michele Pye

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • envelope
  • X
bottom of page